Book review: A 21-Day Prayer Journey by Itumeleng Matlaila

20170512_111807-1_resized

To my pleasant surprise, I won Itumeleng Matlaila’s A 21-Day Prayer Journey on Facebook from the publishers, Struik Christian Media. Not long after it was delivered I had the opportunity to use it in a seven-day fast. Though geared to congregations and study groups, I nevertheless found Matlaila’s book useful for my personal fast. The daily prayer topics were a great way to pray for those things I usually neglect (my country, the church and so on), and it kept my fast from being a purely self-involved enterprise. The prayers are well-written and Scriptural and helped to focus my fast, and I appreciated the space to make prayer notes. Altogether a well-put-together little book that’d work well in both individual and corporate fasting.

Title: A 21-Day Prayer Journey
Author: Itumeleng Matlaila
Publisher: Struik Christian Media
Rating: 3.5/5 (Goodreads rating, for comparison: [No data])
Best feature of the book: It’s pick-up-and-use. The prayers are prophetic.
Worst feature of the book: It’s not ideal for absolute beginners where fasting is concerned.
Trigger warnings: N/A
You’ll like this if… You’re looking for a tool to facilitate a fast, or if you’re keen on investing prayer in South Africa and Africa.

