Top 5 Mistakes New Pastors Make

rethink

The expectations, hours, discipline, needs of others, and own dreams can cripple the new pastor. Being a pastor heading into his seventh year of ministry, I’ve made a multitude of mistakes, not known when to trust God, and wanted to throw in the towel at least three times. The simple fact is that only one in ten pastors will actually retire as such. Many of them don’t make it past year five. There are five mistakes that commonly are made that cause this significant mind change to leave the field.

The Messiah Complex 

The rationale that you are directly responsible for someone’s salvation and relationship with Christ.

I remember leaving Bible college with a full heart to add multitudes to the Kingdom. As soon as I stepped a foot into my first ministry I forgot the most important aspect of serving God. It’s not me that does anything; it is…

View original post 1,017 more words

