A ruminating prayer on the worry of infertility

blue_flowers_field_japan

Read: Genesis 16.

Dearest Lord,

In Genesis 16:13 Hagar calls you “El-roi”, which means “the God who sees/the God of seeing”. Today, Lord, I need you to see me. Perhaps this is an arrogant, self-centred request – there are so many things to pray for. But you did follow a slave girl as she fled into the wilderness and made her a very great promise in patriarchal times: “I will greatly multiply your offspring.”

Lord, I read this account of Hagar and Sarai, and I realise that Sarai is the bitch in this particular narrative[1]. But, God help me, hers is the story I identify with. Hers is the story that contracts my heart to a small, painful point in my chest, one that burns with bitterness for this upstart Hagar. Sarai, with her barren womb – that I understand. The gloating of those who have had children and use it as a kind of yardstick to measure the worth of women with and a weapon to classify them – that I understand.

I need you to see this, Lord, inside my heart: this dread, this shame, this despair – these ashes. I’m hoping that you who are good and compassionate will not be able to gaze on these things and refuse me their antidote. Am I trying to bargain here? Perhaps – but is it really bargaining if I have no chips to put on the table, none but a very fractured and sometimes borderline blasphemous hope? Hope that you are not only the God of seeing, but of feeling?

I pray for your will to be done – but a small part of my heart prays that this one time, your will and mine will be the same.

Amen.


[1] I think Abram is the antagonist.

One thought on “A ruminating prayer on the worry of infertility

  1. What a comfort to know in our pain that God DOES see and He never despises the sacrifice of a broken heart placed unreservedly on the altar of His sovereignty. I have a different burden but trust that the same God Who saw and comforted Hagar will see and comfort you and me. May He grant you the desire of your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.